• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • knastera

Just another shooter
    May 6, 2013
    Baltimore County
    I'm picking up a Judge (steel frame Public Defender, 2" barrel, 2 1/2 chamber) shortly and I'm looking for some input on ammo. For .410 shells, I have Winchester PDX-1 and Fiocchi 000. I have very little experience with 45 LC. I have a few questions (with <10 yard range home defense in mind):
    1) Do you feel there is an advantage to mixing in some .45 LC with the shot shells? If so, why?
    2) What defensive ammo in 45 LC would you recommend and why?

BTW, I'm not looking to debate the merits of the Judge as a defensive platform. You are perfectly entitled to think it's a bad choice, but that's not what I'm looking for here.

Thanks in advance.

mopar92

Official MDS Court Jester
    May 5, 2011
    Taneytown
    If I landed in a foreign country with no phone, money and didn't speak the language and was told here's a Judge and your choice of all compatible ammo, I would go with only .45 LC.
    I would also pick up Cor Bon or Buffalo Bore ammo or simple LRN ammo.
    The thing about .410 shotgun ammo is it's at it's bestest in a 24" shotgun. You lose a lot of velocit, and muzzle energy dropping down to a 2" barrel. You lose energy with the Colt too but not as much.
    Not a terrible choice for a barn/snake/toolbox gun.

knastera

Just another shooter
    May 6, 2013
    Baltimore County
    If I landed in a foreign country with no phone, money and didn't speak the language and was told here's a Judge and your choice of all compatible ammo, I would go with only .45 LC.
    I would also pick up Cor Bon or Buffalo Bore ammo or simple LRN ammo.