• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Cuttyfunk

Dec 17, 2015
    I was asked a question today but didn't know the answer so I figured I would have to ask the boards. If I am a MD resident and my father is a DE resident and wants to gift me a handgun, I assume it still has to go through a FFL or transfer through MSP. Handgun is an approve weapon and I couldn't take possession of mags over 10 rounds. As the recipient do I need a HQL? Am I correct that Inheritance laws only apply if the person passed away.

Thanks

TheOriginalMexicanBob

Ultimate Member
    Jul 2, 2017
    Sun City West, AZ
    I believe you're correct it needs to go through a FFL holder and you'll need a HQL. I can also relate what the estate attorney told me when my mom passed away some years ago when I asked about the appraisal for her jewelry...her answer was "What jewelry?" Take that as you will.

If your father is alive, it is not an inheritance.
    Must go through a Maryland FFL. MDSP does not handle interstate transactions.
    You can take possession of any mag in Delaware- not Maryland. You have to bring them across the state line yourself.
    If the pistol is not on the C&R list, you need a HQL.

MEGARMS

KnowNothing
    Jun 3, 2012
    Carroll County
    Call Nicole Stoddart 410-653-4596 at the MSP licensing division. I believe she will explain to you that you CAN accept a gift of a regulated firearm from your father without going through an FFL. She will then tell you that you can voluntarily register it if you would like.

I recall asking this question a few years ago when my dad offered to give me a pistol. Don't take my word for it, call her tomorrow.

NateIU10

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2009
    Southport, CT