• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • echo6mike

Ultimate Member
    Feb 1, 2013
    Close to DC
    Short version, the next rifle I want to pick up is a bolt action .30-06 to go along with my Garand. But we've got two that were US service rifles, and lots to learn about both of them.

So folks who know them, please educate this boot about the variants of the 1903, comparisons with the 1917, and why I might look for one over the other.

I'll be looking for a shooter, with some collector value (but that's secondary), and beyond that I'm kinda stumped.

I like the action on the later British Enfields, haven't handled the 1917 or many of the 1903s, but that's the extent of it. Never taken any of them to the range, and not sure what my budget will be (less than $1000, though).

So please, edumacate me!

s/f

Major03

Ultimate Member
    I'm not an expert, but as a fellow Marine if you're looking for a US Service Rifle collection that is more USMC focused I'd look for a 1903. I'm pretty sure more 1917 Enfields were actually issued during WWI to doughboys, but the devil dogs were toting the 1903 all the way through Guadalcanal.

Shootable 1903A3 drill rifle conversions can be had for not too much money. That might be your best bet if you're looking for a shootable "collection" that is really not too historically accurate but a good representation. If you're going to go the full on collectors route, where the rifle has provenance...that's a different story all together.

If you want to find a good representative piece for a USMC rifle, here's a good CMP article on what to look for.

http://forums.thecmp.org/archive/index.php/t-2444.html

Clif

Dec 3, 2012
    A terrific way to begin your quest is to go to the 2017 Antique Arms Show. March 18-19 at the State fair grounds in Timonium. There are plenty of folks selling and more than willing to educate you.