• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DetectiveWildman

Feb 27, 2018
    Hey md shooters community, new member as this is my first post! Been continually lurking looking for advice and staying up to date on what's legal and maybe not legal. I'm looking for advice between the three guns above. From what I've seen, the VZ58 is pretty much well loved everywhere but they seem fairly expensive for what they are. Granted, I may just not be familiar with what guns run.
    The PTR interests me, I really like the the ability for AK mags and the weight doesn't bother me. If be lying if the HK slap wasn't fun as hell, it shoots the cheap stuff like the VZ and is a little cheaper. However, I have no experience with HKs or roller locks. Any advice here? I know rollers can wear out but that might be way past any recreational round count I'll be doing.
    VEPRs I think are beauties, I love the walnut stock even with the thumbhole. My main ? With these is what's actually legal? MSP just has the hunter variants as legal, but considering veprs don't have parts interchangabilt with AKs shouldn't they all be legal? How is real world accuracy from any users that own them? I'm not worried about shooting the head off a match 300 yards away but I guess groups I could cover with my palm would be nice.
    Sorry for the text wall, looking forward to hearing from anyone with info to help my decision!

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    My BIL has the PTR. He cracked his bolt, PTR fixed it and paid for shipping. The roller lock feels a little weird at first. Overall it's a great gun and fun to shoot.

aquaman

Ultimate Member
    Sep 21, 2008
    Belcamp, MD