• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dec 15, 2018
    could you guys please recommend some cheap slugs for the range. I'm new to shotguns so I'm still learning what is good and what is not

Thank you

Gcs7th

Ultimate Member
    Jan 26, 2012
    AGC
    Buy a bunch of different kinds and see which group the best from your shotgun. My favorite are the federal truball low recoil. Federal also has mini slugs I picked up at bass pro but they did not feed, cycle, or eject properly. They were reasonably accurate and low recoil. I highly recommend a tornado brush if you shoot slugs. It makes cleaning much easier.

steves1911

Ultimate Member
    Dec 2, 2011
    On a hill in Wv
    Rifled bbl or smooth? No sense in buying sabots if it's a smooth bore and no sense in buying rifled slugs if its a rifled barrel. I've had best luck in smooth bores with lightfield foster type slugs. Sellior&bellot and fiocchi make pretty inexpensive slugs. You will need to try several varieties my experience is slug guns are usually pretty picky.

rbird7282

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 6, 2012
    Columbia
    Buy a bunch of different kinds and see which group the best from your shotgun. My favorite are the federal truball low recoil. Federal also has mini slugs I picked up at bass pro but they did not feed, cycle, or eject properly. They were reasonably accurate and low recoil. I highly recommend a tornado brush if you shoot slugs. It makes cleaning much easier.

This. I use the Federal Truball low recoil as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Batt816

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 1, 2018
    Eastern Shore