• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BananaRunt

Dec 9, 2017
    Hi Folks,

Introduction here: https://www.mdshooters.com/showthrea...91#post5021591

New member here. I've searched for an answer to this question, but have been unsuccessful. I'm fairly new to MD also.

First, is "registering" the same as "77r"?

I want to build an AR pistol from an 80% lower. I understand this should be ok according to what I've read on MSP site, but what about "registering" the handgun? It's a regulated firearm, right? I initially thought this shouldn't be required (registering) because the registration or 77r process is required for purchases, and I'm not purchasing, I'm building. But then I read new resident have to register their regulated firearms , so it seems registration extends beyond purchases and transfers. Does anyone have any guidance, and if so, can you link me to something official?

Also, if it does have to be registered, how do I do that? Again, the 77r seems to be for purchases, but after I finish the 80 percent and build into a pistol, it will already be in my possession.

Thanks!

tkd4life

Ultimate Member
    Sep 10, 2010
    Southern Maryland
    How exactly would you register? Are you putting a SN on it? What is the Make and Model. If you want, call the map, they could tell you. Maybe someone can correct me, it isn’t illegal to manufacture a pistol as long as you aren’t a prohibited person.

BananaRunt

Dec 9, 2017
    Thanks to all for the info. I recognize it's ok to build, I'm just wondering about registering/77r. Are they one and the same, and is it required AFTER one builds the receiver into a regulated firearm.

teratos

My hair is amazing
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 22, 2009
    Bel Air