• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rrrrrrkevin

Its comin right for me!
    Jul 18, 2008
    North Beach
    I am searching for the correct arrow for my new recurve because I am really trashing my arrows that I use for my compound to the point where most of the vanes are so shredded that I can hear them in flight and some I think I am watching them deviate in flight due to the vane damage or just because they are not the correct arrow for this bow and yes, mostly because I am still learning. I use the crappy simple plastic rest that comes on the bow but I am considering putting some material on the shelf and shooting it off of that.

I have a Hoyt Dorado 50# and with my compound I am a 28 1/2" draw and I am assuming I am the same with this recurve. I would like to purchase a dozen feathered arrows. I found some aluminium 2117's on ebay with feathers that I like and I can afford. Would this be a good selection? or atleast worth me taking the dive and tearing them up on my way to finding out what kind of arrows I prefer? or am I totally off track and does someone else have a cheaper and better alternative? here is the link to the arrows.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Blackhawk-XX75-...944?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c1be79090

The arrows look just fine and with definitely work for your recurve. One thing though, not to dishearten you but if you add a felt shelf onto the recurve which most do, myself included, eventually one of the vanes will catch it and start to come off the arrow. But there are many places around that will revane the arrows for you when you need it. With a recurve and longbow practice is key, and you can't practice enough while worrying about the arrows. Shoot away and getm them refletched when it comes to it. I do it myself and its easy to do if you are into that.

rrrrrrkevin

Its comin right for me!
    Jul 18, 2008