• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mwelliott

May 17, 2006
    Columbia
    Does anyone have any experience with an outfitter for black bear in Maryland? I have a lead on what seems to be a good one but wanted to check around a little before plunking down the cash.

I have a LOT of shooting experience, just not a lot of hunting experience and need the help of a professional in this arena.

Thanks in Advance,

Mike

lax

Ultimate Member
    Feb 12, 2008
    Baldwin
    so you got a tag in the lottery, lucky. I havent seen much for outfitter but DNR tries to set up with a landowner who have a nuisance bears

mwelliott

May 17, 2006
    Columbia
    Thanks for the heads-up. Ill have to give them a call when they open back up on Tuesday. Now I just need to get to the AGC and sight in the rifle I will use.

MDHunter

Ultimate Member
    Mar 12, 2007
    Free America
    MD blackies aren't that tough to kill, a .300 WSM with 180 grainers will be more than plenty. You could even use 150 or 165 grainers if you want, see what shoots best out of your rifle.

Use a quality bullet (Nosler Partition, Core Lok Ultra, Trpohy Bonded Bear Claw, etc). A .300 WSM will have a bullet moving pretty fast, and cheap bullets may break up if they hit bone or rib.

mwelliott

May 17, 2006
    Columbia
    MD blackies aren't that tough to kill, a .300 WSM with 180 grainers will be more than plenty. You could even use 150 or 165 grainers if you want, see what shoots best out of your rifle.

Use a quality bullet (Nosler Partition, Core Lok Ultra, Trpohy Bonded Bear Claw, etc). A .300 WSM will have a bullet moving pretty fast, and cheap bullets may break up if they hit bone or rib.