• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gatornick

Apr 6, 2013
    I’m new to this reloading game. Only 20 rounds in. I just got a chargemaster and I was wondering if there is any need to keep a beam scale to verify it periodically or if I can trust it on its own.

Donald1818

Aug 22, 2013
    Baltimore
    I’m new to this reloading game. Only 20 rounds in. I just got a chargemaster and I was wondering if there is any need to keep a beam scale to verify it periodically or if I can trust it on its own.

dude,
    if you are 20 rounds in and spending shit load of money on a digital scale, you need to rethink your plans.

:lol:
    D

toppkatt

Ultimate Member
    Apr 22, 2017
    For the most part a digital scale isn't any more accurate (if as accurate :rolleyes: ) than a beam type, it's usually just faster. Either one you should have a 'control weight' and test both types on occasion to verify accuracy.

Last edited:

DZ

Ultimate Member
    Oct 9, 2005
    Mount Airy, MD
    I prefer the beam scale. My eyes aren't that bad yet,, but this setup really helps dial into that last kernel and is easier on the eyes after a long loading session. As others have said, gravity doesn't lie and with a set of check weights, neither does the beam scale.

Attachments

• 20210112_194446.jpg
      20210112_194446.jpg
      96.6 KB · Views: 292
    • 20210112_194504.jpg
      20210112_194504.jpg
      59.3 KB · Views: 292

gatornick

Apr 6, 2013