• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mark71211

Ultimate Member
    Sep 10, 2012
    Edgewater
    Just wondering if anybody has anything to report yet on crabs. I heard that the wye was not good yet and guys were getting skunked down there.

Derwood

Ultimate Member
    Jun 2, 2011
    DC area
    I was in the Lower Potomac over the weekend (near St. Clement's Island). I saw more dead tiny crabs than ever before. I'm not an expert on this stuff so maybe that's just part of the process...but I've never seen that many dead ones. It doesn't look good. I'm going back in three weeks and actually plan to do some crabbing then.

johnnyb2

Ultimate Member
    Apr 3, 2012
    Carroll County
    Radio said that Maryland is running about a month behind lasts years ....errr....what ever....catch...success...so far this year.....Not a good reflection on the prices...most coming from out of state it said.

tatoocrab

Sep 20, 2010
    tracy's landing / beltsville
    I was in the Lower Potomac over the weekend (near St. Clement's Island). I saw more dead tiny crabs than ever before. I'm not an expert on this stuff so maybe that's just part of the process...but I've never seen that many dead ones. It doesn't look good. I'm going back in three weeks and actually plan to do some crabbing then.

I think the crabs were the shells of crabs that shed there old shells. You might
    want to go looking for soft crabs. Started with 2 crab pots last week so far 3 crabs, 1 peeler and 1 perch. I let them all go to swim and hope to catch them when there bigger.

hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere