• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Bigfoot21075

Ultimate Member
    Nov 3, 2008
    Elkridge, MD
    Hi Everyone,

I am toying with the idea of doing something I have never done before - paying for someone else to fix my classic car! I have had this pretty nice 1964 Chevy Impala Convertible for a couple of years now. It needs a few things and I just do not feel up to the task. I like to work on it, but my back has deteriorated to the point where if I work on it for 1 day, I am out for 3.

I was in the process of fixing a power steering pulley alignment issue and just have not been able to finish it. Same with the electronic ignition conversion I started (Pertronix). So now I have it partially disassembled so it has not run in almost 2 years! It is a crime to have this sit and not be used.

I was either thinking of hiring someone to come to my house and work on it, or even just having it towed somewhere, but I have no idea who can still work on these cars (and I am by no means rich, but can pay a reasonable sum). It is a dual four barrel car, so that adds to the complexity. It seems that most modern mechanics have never seen 1 four barrel let alone two from the factory!

Does anyone have any experience with people or shops in the central MD area? I appreciate your help!

10xclean

MDS Supporter
    Dec 23, 2008
    Kingsville
    Maryland Performance Specialities - known the owner for 30+ yrs. Not cheap, but done right the first time. Off of Route 40 in the Rosedale area.

Aamdskeetshooter

Ultimate Member
    Dec 19, 2013
    Moco
    Emerald City Automotive.
    Chennault Way
    Gaithersburg‎ MD‎ 20879