• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Clump

Sep 19, 2008
    Felton, DE
    I've been stalking Mini 14s for quite a few years and decided to finally get 1. It's a stainless/synthetic Ranch rifle in 5.56. I added a Leupold VX-1 2-7 and a Choate hand-guard.

First trip to the range yesterday and had a helluva time. Apparently, I did a horrible bore sighting job and had a hard time even getting on paper. Got that sorted, finally.

I'm using the factory 5 round mags and PMC brass cased 55 gr ball. My AR eats this ammo without problems.

I cleaned the rifle and lubed it with 1 shot, which I've been using for most everything for quite a while. Had a number of instances where the bolt didn't fully close and needed a nudge. Also had a few FTEs. 120 rounds through it all together and it seemed to get worse as the round count increased.

Before next Sunday I'll clean it and lube per the Army M14 manual. Ruger's manual doesn't mention lubrication, except for a warning about obstructing the bore.

It's definitely a fun rifle to shoot, even with a few glitches. Looking forward to the next try, with everything properly lubed.

There are a lot of AR Vs. Mini 14 comparisons around. If I could only have 1 it would probably be an AR. I like having both.

Here she is

platoonDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Jun 30, 2011
    SouthOfBalto
    Neat, maybe will be on my list.

If possible please post picture of the handguard you removed and keep us posted on your next range visit. Interested in the bolt not going into battery.

willtill

The Dude Abides
    MDS Supporter
    May 15, 2007
    Clump, congrats on a very fun rifle! :) It is definitely one of my most favorite guns.