• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • moto.x

Sep 16, 2014
    I'm going to sound like a noob, because I am. I want to buy something of the market place on a similar site from an individual. since it's the first time they I'm doing this on the internet, i am sketched out. The seller has a good history and wants the payment through USPS but because I'm new to the whole online thing, I'm afraid of what could go wrong.

Are USPS money orders safer than a cashier's check from a bank? Who follows up if either the seller or buyer has a problem

Additionally, what happenes if he doesn't send the item and what can I do?

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    If you send a USPS money order, and he does not ship the item, you contact the USPS and they handle it as a Mail Fraud issue.

I have been buying and selling online since the 90s, and have had only 2 bad transactions. One, I never got the item, and they said they refunded, but never go it. Model car kit from Hong Kong. The second, another kit, was not as advertised, I sent it back, seller claimed he never got it. My error, I did not send with tracking.

I have had a couple where there was something wrong with the item, and the seller either refunded a substantial amount of the price, or in some cases, refunded the entire price and told to not bother sending it back.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    In addition to being perceived as like likely to be fraudulent , sellers like USPS Money Orders because they can be cashed at any US Post Office .

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009