Could this be considered straw purchase?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • seawalker

Apr 11, 2021
    City GTTF
    Hey all,

I just sold a handgun on gunbroker. This is my first time using the platform.

The buyer emailed me that there might be a delay with his background check, and that if so, asked if I could change the name of the recipient to his wife, and she would under go the background check.

So, the question is, would I be potentially aiding in a straw purchase or other legal issues OR, would it be ok since I am shipping it to his FFL, and that’s is their responsibility, I’m just the “supplier” I get the feeling I could be liable here

Thoughts?

smokey

2A TEACHER
    Jan 31, 2008
    If a buyer is sketchy, there will be other buyers. You're always free to pull the ripcord. I'd stick to if he is buying it, he's the one doing the paperwork. Online gun sales are a big target right now, I wouldn't put it past the current administration or one of the idiots in NY to launch multiple stings online to try to nab people on online auction sites.

mpollan1

Foxtrot Juliet Bravo
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 26, 2012
    Мэриленд
    Hey all,

I just sold a handgun on gunbroker. This is my first time using the platform.

The buyer emailed me that there might be a delay with his background check, and that if so, asked if I could change the name of the recipient to his wife, and she would under go the background check.