• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Scarab

Apr 5, 2013
    Carroll County, MD
    I'm a newbie to shotguns so I've been asking A LOT of questions recently. Here is one more!

I'm wondering what shell size/type/whatever is best for HD. If I have my shotgun loaded in a "readied state" I would like to hear what you all use. Obviously ANYTHING coming out of a shotgun is going to hurt an intruder, but what's considered the "best" for HD?

I have a Remington Versa Max Tactical that I will be using. It has a 22" barrel and the Remington ProBore Tactical Choke (which I'm not sure where in the spektrum of choke types it falls and I can't see to find any information on it. I sent Remington Customer Service an email but they haven't responded yet).

All opinions, answers, information welcome and thank you in advance!

Scarab

pbharvey

Habitual Testifier
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    Don't read the #4 vs. 00 stuff on the interwebz. Your head will explode.

boss66tcode

a bit of an Eddie Haskle
    Sep 8, 2008
    in 'da hills
    You'll need to consider directions and angles from which you will be shooting, and the issue of over penetration. 00buck is considered the round for most applications, but some apartment or townhouse settings you may consider 000 or even 4 buck

stu929

M1 Addict
    Jan 2, 2012
    Hagerstown
    Something from a .223 ;-)

Havent seen it anywhere but heard 000 has twice the pellets and they are lighter so less chance of over penetration.

gunone

MDS Supporter
    Sep 9, 2011
    MD
    You should be mindful of what maybe on the other side of the wall that it may go through.

In my house for example, if I wasn't careful, I could send shot through the wall and into my neighbors kids room.

SCARCQB

Get Opp my rawn, Plick!
    Jun 25, 2008