• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kb830

MDS Supporter
    Aug 30, 2020
    Clarksville, MD
    Hello,

Can someone help me out here??? I'm new to all this and could use a little explaining....

I want to shoot steel at AGC with my AR15. I have my steel certification and the rules state ammunition restrictions (among others) "No round, regardless of configuration or caliber, with a muzzle velocity over 3,150 feet per second is permitted." and "Armor piercing, ‘penetrator’, or any ammunition whose bullet contains ANY amount of steel, tungsten or other material designed to increase the round’s penetration, are prohibited." .

That seems to rule out any 5.56 55 grain as they seem to be above the 3,150 feet per second. 62 grain seems to be a little slower, but that is all M855 steel core (not allowed). Are there any other weights of 5.56 (not that I actually expect to be able to find any).

As an alternative I have been looking at .223. Again, looking at 55 grain. That seems to be a little slower, maybe, depending on the brand.

Based on what I've been able to find, it seems like PMC Bronze 223 Remington 223A FMJ-BT 55 grain seems to be just about the only choice. However, check out this page https://pmcammo.com/product/bronze-223a/ The box clearly indicates "2900 FPS MV", but the Balistics Chart indicates Velocity - Muzzle: 3200 feet per second.

Is shooting steel with my AR a lost cause?

Do I not understand something? Or reading the rules wrong?

Any help/info is appreciated.

Thanks.

Gcs7th

Ultimate Member
    Jan 26, 2012
    AGC
    That PMC will be around 2400-2800fps out of a 16” barrel. The testing your are looking at usually calculates a 21 or 24” barrel.