• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • acwatkins

Aug 29, 2013
    Glen Burnie
    Would love to hear some insight from anyone in the hvac, and, or plumbing/gas fields. I am a dual apprentice in both and just want to hear opinions on the field from people other than the small family company I work for. Whats your opinion on the trade?

Brad

Mar 20, 2013
    Glen Arm
    Everyone has different opinions and experiences but I will give you mine.

I started in the HVAC field right out of high school. Thought it was what I wanted to do so decided to go to TESST college for their HVAC program. Spent 5 years doing residential/ light commercial. One day I woke up and looked around and realized I hated getting up and going to work every day. It was completely miserable. Climbing in attics, crawlspaces and carrying heavy a$$ boilers completely sucked. I mean some days were fine but as a whole was completely terrible. On top of that the pay in the residential/light commercial side sucks unless you own the company or are doing work on the side. Unless you are working major overtime it was just never going to get me where I wanted to me.

I ended up saving up some money, quit my job and went to college for engineering. I actually have not finished my degree yet but now work for a consulting engineering firm designing commercial HVAC/Plumbing systems. I have a desk job that is completely amazing and I could not be happier. (usually you need a degree to get into the field i'm in but since I had my Master's HVAC/ Journeyman Gas-fitter license they decided to give me a shot and it all worked out, been at this engineering firm for over 3 years now)