can prohibited persons inherit regulated firearms?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • gsrcrxsi

Jan 15, 2012
    Baltimore, MD
    let me start off by saying that i am not a prohibited person nor am i trying to sidestep any laws.

however, i have a friend who IS prohibited, and is determined to find a way to acquire regulated firearms. i do not believe he is or ever will be a threat to anyone, and i think he really just wants a regulated gun "because he cant" kind of thing.

he says that he cannot purchase any legally due to the laws, but that he is free to inherit them from family when the family member dies. im just curious, is this true? is it lawful for a family member to knowingly leave regulated firearms to a prohibit persons? or is it lawful for a prohibited person to receive regulated firearms via inheritance?

lx1x

Peanut Gallery
    Apr 19, 2009
    Maryland
    quick answer no.

even its inherited... why would you think differently if he is not allowed to buy? i dont see any special grandfather clause about that.

MDMOUNTAINEER

Glock, AR, Savage Junkie
    Mar 4, 2009
    West Virginia
    the law doesn't say "purchase" or "acquire" it says possess. So the method he obtains them is immaterial. The possession is prohibited.

gsrcrxsi

Jan 15, 2012
    Baltimore, MD
    i really dont know the specifics, but he seems to think the process is different for inheritance, and that they dont do a background check or anything, thats why i was asking here for further clarification.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011