• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jsimoes86

Sep 15, 2015
    Since im new to firearms I have a few questions about ammunition.
    1. Where can I get good ammo for the cheapest prices?
    2. What are some good 9mm ammo brands for just target shooting? (if there is such a thing)
    3. From what I have researched there is a difference between target rounds and home defense. I have also read that there are certain restrictions on types of ammo for home defense. So my question is what would be good home defense ammo to keep at home?

Thank you.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk

ashershapiro

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Apr 11, 2014
    Speer Gold Dot and Federal HST seem to be the most popular from what I've seen. Hornady Critical Duty too. No ammo restrictions in MD that I know of.

For range ammo Winchester White box, or any FMJ bullet. I used freedom munnitions reman a lot. Its cheap and works.

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014
    By target I assume you mean practice and paper punching rather than competition. If you are starting out, range time is more valuable than more accurate ammo. A consistent sight picture, trigger squeeze and hold is going to more for your accuracy than an ammo that is 30% more accurate out of a Ransom rest.

I'm seeing of Youtube videos lately on something called Lehigh Penetrator. It offers too much penetration for home defense as far as I am concerned.

jsimoes86

Sep 15, 2015
    By target I assume you mean practice and paper punching rather than competition. If you are starting out, range time is more valuable than more accurate ammo. A consistent sight picture, trigger squeeze and hold is going to more for your accuracy than an ammo that is 30% more accurate out of a Ransom rest.