Handgun permit...how long did yours take?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cbleitch9

Jan 26, 2011
    Annapolis
    Hey Guys, first off I apologize if this is posted in the wrong section. I'm a newbie to the forums.

So, I was wondering how long it took you guys(who have handgun permits) to get them from MSP? I've been told it can take anywhere from 3-6 months. I'm going to be working as armed security for a buddies company. I submitted my completed package to MSP last week and noticed they cashed the check today...1 week from submission. How long would you think it will take them from this point to contact me for interview? I have a clean background, no arrests or anything, DoD security clearance, and have a LEO as one of my references. So, I'm hoping all that will expedite the process. After interview, how long does it typically take to receive permits/licenses?

Look forward to hearing from you guys...thanks in advance! :beer:

SCARCQB

Get Opp my rawn, Plick!
    Jun 25, 2008
    Undisclosed location
    The entire process took about a month an a half.. That's if you qualify.

This includes the initial interview, background checks,reference checks, appointment for a final interview... then the yellow card shows up in the mail about a week later.

cbleitch9

Jan 26, 2011
    Annapolis
    What are disqualifying factors?

The company wrote a letter to MSP stating the reasoning was for employment purposes - armed security. I have a totally clean background, LEO as reference, etc. I don't know what they could disqualify me for.

Abacab

Sep 10, 2009
    MD