• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jcarpenter

Apr 29, 2012
    Westminster
    Built some custom design grips on the CNC for a friend. These are for a S&W Victory 22LR target pistol. Apparently wood grips aren't available. Pictures are as from the CNC without any finish yet.

John C

Attachments

• SW Victory.jpg
      SW Victory.jpg
      71.7 KB · Views: 395
    • SW Victory back.jpg
      SW Victory back.jpg
      65.6 KB · Views: 374

dontpanic

Ultimate Member
    Jul 7, 2013
    Timonium
    Nice work.
    Did you use an available program or do it all yourself.

I am new to this and still learning all the possibilities.

jcarpenter

Apr 29, 2012
    Westminster
    Thanks!

I use Solidworks or Blender to model the shape of the grip. Then I use Deskproto to add the checkering toolpaths and generate the G Code. Starting to do 3D scans of BP pistols stocks so I can replicate them on the CNC. Below is a STL model of a BP pistol I have scanned. Once they are an STL format file Deskproto can generate the G Code.

Attachments

• Small BP pistol.jpg
      Small BP pistol.jpg
      18 KB · Views: 405

trailtoy

GOA, MSI, NRA
    MDS Supporter
    May 19, 2013
    St. Marys
    Awesome looking grips. Love to see them on the gun. How much would you have to get for them to make it worth making them?

StantonCree

Watch your beer
    Jan 23, 2011
    So freaking cool!! I love threads like this on what some of you all build!!!

What wood did you use?

mxrider

Former MSI Treasurer
    Aug 20, 2012
    Edgewater, MD
    Do these require a 5 axis cnc? We have a 5' X 12' 3 axis and wondering if it could do this type of work. Using Enroute currently and importing .dxf from Autocad

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

johnnyb2

Ultimate Member
    Apr 3, 2012
    Carroll County