• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rcbrownr7

Jun 15, 2017
    Annapolis
    Hi,

I am new to bow hunting and have decided to start with a Crossbow, I don't have a large budget as I cant go hunting but a few times a year. I know this is a very vague question but I would just like opinions for a new hunter. I have zero knowledge of brand reputation or even differences in styles. My plan is to use this to target shoot and mainly hunt Whitetail Deer. I have narrowed it down between 1 used bow and 2 new bows. Sorry if this is too broad, TIA.

USED - Horton Legend XL 175 - Owner says he bought it new 3 years ago and has only shot it a few times. From pictures it looks in good condition. - $250

NEW - Barnett Jackall package - https://www.sportsmansguide.com/product/index/barnett-jackal-crossbow?a=681070 - $179

New Center Point Sniper 370 - https://www.sportsmansguide.com/pro...b-draw-weight-4x32mm-crossbow-scope?a=2055645 - $269

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    ^^^This. What he said.

I hate myself for saying this, but check out the Horton Legend first and see what kind of shape it's in. Not a fan of used xbows, but if it is in good shape, it will probably be the better bow.

The second link didn't work.

Pale Ryder

Ultimate Member
    Jan 12, 2009
    Millersville
    I have a Horton from just before their bankruptcy, of the three it is probably the best bet. Do like earlier mentioned run a cotton ball over the limbs and examine the string. If it looks good it will do what you need.

gwchem

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 18, 2014
    SoMD
    You can get a PSE Fang crossbow for $299 on Amazon. I used the same one last season and it's a great, inexpensive bow. Buy a set of broadheads and you're good to go.

hi3cho

Ultimate Member
    Nov 16, 2012
    Edgemere