Terra Alta, WV trip (just west of Oakland, MD). Any public pistol ranges nearby?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jan 12, 2016
    Central MD
    Title says it...

Also, I'm a bit of a newbie to this fabulous community. Best practices for transport from MD to WV? I am going in June so I think their new carry laws will be in effect. Are they open carry to non residents?

Thanks in advance all!

davsco

Ultimate Member
    Oct 21, 2010
    Loudoun, VA
    not a lawyer but my understanding is open carry is legal for residents and non.

there is a rifle/pistol range in either new Germany or savage river state forests near deep creek.

let's just say I got pulled in wv last year with 3+ guns and tons of mags and ammo in back seat of pickup truck (had done a 3 gun match), trooper asked and I explained, and zero issues. though I still got the speeding ticket.

TheBulge

Mar 7, 2011
    Savage River State Forest in MD is the closest one I can think of.
    I believe that is the home range of our Hooligan's.

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    Only public range I know of out close to Oakland is Savage Off of New Germany Road, probably 15 miles from Oakland on the way there from I-68

Jan 12, 2016
    Central MD
    Through extensive searching I also found Oak Flat Sports Ranges in Reedsville, WV which is about 15mi from Terra Alta. Might have to check that out too.

Thanks for the input all!

j8064

Garrett Co Hooligan #1
    Feb 23, 2008
    Deep Creek
    Why, I shoot out my back door all the time.