• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GUNSnROTORS

nude member
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 7, 2013
    hic sunt dracones
    I think it was the discussions in Doc's brass thread that got me thinking about sorting cases by water capacity in grains. I'm in the middle of a project where I was about to sort by head stamp and case weight, like I've always done when reloading for more than just range fun. Reading several opinions in Doc's thread (advocating that sorting by water capacity weight is more accurate) started me wondering if I've been wasting my time all these years. Many outdoor writers these days will point out that case capacity (measured in grains of water) is more accurate than sorting the way I do. I don't know if these water capacity tests are widespread or if people are simply opining with, well ... opinions. :) Personally, I've never tried this before.

So anyway, I'm working quite a bit with .338 Lapua Magnum at the moment, so figured focusing on that cartridge wouldn't take me too far away from what I'm already doing. Of the brass I've used for reloading .338, PPU seems to be the least consistent by any measure; considering weight, neck thickness/uniformity, and firing stretch deltas, everything about this brass is more erratic than the other brass I've loaded in .338. Admittedly, the brands I use cost more, much more. If fact, the only reason I have PPU brass is that I picked up some of Syd’s Ammo hand loads at a show earlier this year and he used PPU. So that's what I plan on using here.