• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Augie

Ultimate Member
    Sep 30, 2007
    Central MD
    Stumbled across a M1D at a shop that I am considering taking another look at.
    First thing I noticed was the parkerizing was very black,not thin Greek black but more the color of 50's SA Garands but darker, has anyone seen these with a very black repark?
    What do I look for to determine if the scope is real or a repro, or the mount for that matter? Scope was clear.
    The stock looks like pictures I've seen of the M1D's, could not see any cartouche, may have been under the cheek rest.
    Thanks for any input.

engineerbrian

JMB fan club
    Sep 3, 2010
    Fredneck
    I own a M1D, but i'm no expert.

There is also a number stamped on the barrel that will help you determine if its legit. The number is under the furniture. I can take a pic of mine later if it helps.

Augie

Ultimate Member
    Sep 30, 2007
    Central MD
    Thanks for everyones input, I did post on CMP also and it could have a dark black park. Does not look like I can afford it at this time so if anyone is interested it's at Freedom Armory in Glen Rock Pa, they are asking 2995.00 which is reasonable for a M1D, does not look like it has had more than a clip or 2 thru it.

Abulg1972

Ultimate Member
    Thanks for everyones input, I did post on CMP also and it could have a dark black park. Does not look like I can afford it at this time so if anyone is interested it's at Freedom Armory in Glen Rock Pa, they are asking 2995.00 which is reasonable for a M1D, does not look like it has had more than a clip or 2 thru it.