Can I sell a hundgun in Virginia even I am a MD resident?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • efeng9622

Oct 10, 2017
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Can I sell a handgun in Virginia even I am a MD resident?

I am a new MD resident, I don’t have MD HQL and am not going to apply it now. but I like to know whether I can sell a handgun outside of MD such as VA ? I knew I should have a HQL then I can purchase , sell and transfer any handgun in MD , but how about VA?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Melnic

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    HoCo
    Need to go through FFL if you cross any state lines with a sale (handgun/long gun/shotgun). That is a federal law.

If item is C&R, then if you have a C&R FFL03, you are an FFL yourself in that case, then things change.

Not sure what to make of your statement:
    Sometime some small gun ship , if you sell a gun to him. The boss even don’t check your license and only give you the cash.

molonlabe

Ultimate Member
    May 7, 2005
    Mountaineer Country, WV
    I personally think it's irresponsible to sell a handgun or a rifle to someone without first going through a background check. How do you know if it's a felon until the BATAF comes knocking on your door?

Last edited:

Matlack

Scribe
    Dec 15, 2008
    Are you the local bank manager or agent for a rich Kenyan Gov. official and/or doctor who recently passed away and had no immediate relationships to whom you wanted to leave your money?

whistlersmother

Peace through strength
    Jan 29, 2013
    Fulton, MD