Go Back   Maryland Shooters > The Arsenal > Rifles
Don't Have An Account? Register Here

Join MD Shooters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 31st, 2018, 02:39 PM #1
dohc97 dohc97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derwood
Posts: 690
dohc97 dohc97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derwood
Posts: 690
Red dot sight positioning

My Aimpoint PRO is properly sighted on my AR. If I have to move it up or down on the rail, does it need to be sighted again?
dohc97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2018, 02:55 PM #2
BigSteve57 BigSteve57 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,151
BigSteve57 BigSteve57 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,151
It might. Or, it might not.
BigSteve57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2018, 02:56 PM #3
ToolAA's Avatar
ToolAA ToolAA is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 3,094
ToolAA ToolAA is offline
Senior Member
ToolAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ellicott City
Posts: 3,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohc97 View Post
My Aimpoint PRO is properly sighted on my AR. If I have to move it up or down on the rail, does it need to be sighted again?

If itís properly positioned why move it?

That being said I take my Spark AR from my 300BO all the time in order to swap a scope. When I put it back sometimes I think I forget the exact position and move it up or back one notch on the rail. I donít notice any difference. I would expect you could easily move it forward or back an inch or so on the UPPER without needing to zero again. However moving from the upper to the rail would likely result in greater error. That being said, if you are shooting 25-50yds with factory ammo I donít think you would notice much difference anyway. You would be lucky to maintain 2 MOA groups anyway.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Honorable people with a good work ethic and strong character have shaped our communities and nation more so than presidents and congressmen. The crisis of character we see in our political leaders is a symptom of our nation's sickness not the cause for the disease.
ToolAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2018, 05:01 PM #4
outrider58's Avatar
outrider58 outrider58 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23,973
outrider58 outrider58 is offline
Senior Member
outrider58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by dohc97 View Post
My Aimpoint PRO is properly sighted on my AR. If I have to move it up or down on the rail, does it need to be sighted again?
Just be sure never to bridge any sight between the upper rail and the hand guard rail. Doing that will play hell on your groups and the sight itself.
outrider58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2018, 11:24 PM #5
2nd=Good+Substantial 2nd=Good+Substantial is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Hereford Zone
Posts: 1,155
2nd=Good+Substantial 2nd=Good+Substantial is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Hereford Zone
Posts: 1,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by outrider58 View Post
Just be sure never to bridge any sight between the upper rail and the hand guard rail. Doing that will play hell on your groups and the sight itself.
I had wondered about that. I just had a feeling it was something to avoid.
__________________
MSI, SAF & NRA Member
Md. Designated Collector
DINO
2nd=Good+Substantial is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Home Page > Forum List > The Arsenal > Rifles


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2018, Congregate Media, LP Privacy Policy Terms of Service