• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BananaRunt

Dec 9, 2017
    Hi Folks,

Introduction here: https://www.mdshooters.com/showthread.php?p=5021591#post5021591

I posted this in the handgun section too in regards to an AR pistol...

New member here. I've searched for an answer to this question, but have been unsuccessful. I'm fairly new to MD also.

First, is "registering" the same as "77r"?

I want to build an HBAR AR from an 80% lower. I understand this should be ok according to what I've read on MSP site, but what about "registering"? It's a regulated firearm, right? I initially thought this shouldn't be required (registering) because the registration or 77r process is required for purchases, and I'm not purchasing, I'm building. But then I read new resident have to register their regulated firearms , so it seems registration extends beyond purchases and transfers. Does anyone have any guidance, and if so, can you link me to something official?

Also, if it does have to be registered, how do I do that? Again, the 77r seems to be for purchases, but after I finish the 80 percent and build into an HBAR AR, it will already be in my possession.

Thanks!

whistlersmother

Peace through strength
    Jan 29, 2013
    Fulton, MD
    As a Maryland resident:

You may NOT manufacture a non-HBAR AR15 now - it is a banned firearm.

You MAY manufacture an HBAR AR15 now - it is not banned, is not regulated and hence, does NOT need to be registered.

So what makes an HBAR versus non-HBAR? No one knows except that MSP has said it must be advertised or described as HBAR. :sad20:

When you go to put an upper on it, make sure you have something that advertises or describes the upper as "HBAR".

IANAL, YMMV, IMHO, and other Internet disclaimers.