• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • arbud

Jan 27, 2008
    Towson
    Hey guys,
    Looking at an older sxs shotgun today. Asked if I could dry fire it. When I pulled the triggers neither triggers hit the firing pins. He said that was normal and the shells would still fire. If I have not explained well enough let me no. I am new to sxs shotties.

arbud

Jan 27, 2008
    Towson
    Could they be unoticebly bouncing off of the exposed firing pins and come to rest about 1/4" away. Both triggers cock alright.

Rambler

Doing the best with the worst.
    Oct 22, 2011
    Could they be unoticebly bouncing off of the exposed firing pins and come to rest about 1/4" away. Both triggers cock alright.

Some of them have hammers that rebound after inertia allows them to overcome the rebound springs to strike the firing pins. This makes it so that the barrels do not hang up on the firing pins when opening the action.

willtill

The Dude Abides
    MDS Supporter
    May 15, 2007
    Ask him to load live rounds and put the muzzle into his mouth and see whether he'll do it.

Good lord. :lol2:

Put a piece of masking tape over the firing pin holes. Dry fire it and the scrutinize the masking tape. You should see where the pins popped against the tape.

Not a shottie, but my TC Arms Omega seems to do the same thing. I can assure you that it will light off the 209 primer. Quite a few dead deer can also attest to that. ;)

byf43

SCSC Life/NRA Patron Life
    Take two shotshells, and cut around the plastic, just above 'the brass' until the plastic is removed.

Do this over a 5 gallon bucket, to 'catch' the powder, shot cup and shot.

All you should have is a brass casehead with a primer in it.

Again......... produce two of these.

Again....... casehead with nothing more than a primer in each.

Ask the owner to allow you to test the shotgun again.