• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fonzy

Jun 9, 2018
    Just purchased a pistol, with an OAL of 17.6in. I also purchased a stabilizer brace with an OAL of 10.5in, which in total is 28.1in. I'm a bit confused with what I have now. It seems it's too long to be an SBR, and too short to be a "rifle"?? Can anyone help me clarify what I have going on, please? I'm still learning. Thanks!

Hawkeye

The Leatherstocking
    Jan 29, 2009
    What pistol, and what brace?

That said:

It seems it's too long to be an SBR

It is not an SBR, because it is a PISTOL, and not a RIFLE. An SBR is a rifle (rifled barrel and shoulder stock) with a barrel of less than 16" in length.

too short to be a "rifle"??
    It's not a rifle either, same reason as above. To be a rifle, it has to have the physical characteristics of a rifle, one of which is having a shoulder stock. A brace is *not* a shoulder stock, so you don't have a rifle.

What you have, if the OAL of the whole thing is over 26", is a "firearm." It's an odd sort of legal middle ground based around the physical definition of "pistol" and "rifle" and the fact that guns like yours don't properly fit into either of those categories. It's not a rifle because it has no stock. However, the legal definition of "pistol" includes that it must be concealable which means an OAL of less than 26." Since yours is longer than that, then it's neither a pistol nor a rifle, but a "firearm."

Also, to further complicate things, all of the preceding is the Federal definition of those things. Maryland would legally still consider your firearm a pistol.

Fonzy

Jun 9, 2018
    What pistol, and what brace?

That said: