• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ack Ack

Sep 4, 2013
    DC
    I'm a district resident and own a few registered handguns. The guns are all registered to me. I'd like my wife to be able to go out to the NRA range and take a class using one of the guns we own. I'm wondering if she could legally transport them to the range (by herself, locked in the trunk etc...). Is this OK under federal statute (i.e. legal activity to legal activity)? Or does the fact that that she isn't the registered owner make this illegal in DC. I'm pretty sure she's fine once in VA, but it's the DC/MD side I'm concerned with. All that said, even if it's legal, I probably wouldn't take the risk, but I'd like to know if it's technically OK.

WeaponsCollector

EXTREME GUN OWNER
    Mar 30, 2009
    Southern MD
    Amendment IV
    The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated,
    and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched,
    and the persons or things to be seized.

PJDiesel

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Dec 18, 2011
    I have a few I have been borrowing since around 2004. Not sure of the legalities of that, but, I transport and shoot one of them fairly regularly.

swinokur

In a State of Bliss
    Patriot Picket
    Apr 15, 2009
    Westminster USA
    From BATFE FAQ:

Q: From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA?