• JeepDriver

Self confessed gun snob
    Aug 28, 2006
    White Marsh
    NFA FAQ

National Firearms Act Frequently Asked Questions

Downloadable ATF.gov NFA Handbook in PDF

THE NFA PAGE ON WIKIPEDIA​

These are all based on my personal experience, I am not a lawyer, do not construe this FAQ as legal advice. Please consult a lawyer before following any information I have spelled out here.

Setting up a NFA Trust

NFA Trust Guide

REMOVED UNTIL ATF MAKES UP THEIR MIND ON TRUST TRANSFERS

Individual Registration
    Standard Registration requires you to be finger printed and photographed. You need 2 FBI blue cards and 1 State Orange Card for the finger prints, and 2 passport photos. The state keeps the Orange Card, and the 2 FBI Blue Cards go to the ATF for thier records.

You need a CLEO sign off on the Form 1 or 4. That requires you to go to MSP in Pikesville and have them do a background check. This can take up to 3 week in some cases. There are local sherriff's that will sign off on NFA paper work. If you live in one of the more gun friendly regions or counties of Maryland, a call to the sherriff's office might be inorder.

What are the ATF Form 1’s and Form 4’s
    ATF Form 1 is an Application to Make and Register a Firearm

(AKA : How To Build a SBR or SBS)

Here is ATF's current Form 1:
    https://www.atf.gov/file/11281/download

This form is used to register a rifle, shotgun or suppressor by an individual with the ATF.

These are for firearms that you already own and intend to modify, or if you are capable of, and wish to build your own suppressor.

This form requires a $200 fee paid to the Department of the Treasury. You need to fill out this form in order to make a firearm with a barrel length of 16” for a rifle and 18” for a shotgun.