• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mr.B

I moved to Maryland last year around June but since I was only 20 yrs old could not bring my AR with me so I left it with family out of state. Now that I'm 21 can I bring my rifle into MD or am I out of luck.

jonnyl

Ultimate Member
    Sep 23, 2009
    Frederick
    I'm not a lawyer, but some questions I can think of that may help get you a decent answer.

HBAR or No ?
    Were you the purchaser and do you have any paperwork?

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    Turning 21 could have been an issue if he tried to register it w/ MSP while still 20 , but I sounds as if he stored it out of state until Birthday.

Mr.B

No I turned 21 this January. Also I would not need to register my AR since I moved into Maryland and became a resident before Oct 1 2013 correct? I assumed that only applied if you moved into Maryland after Oct 1 2013.

Mr.B

Hope I'm not confusing anybody but I moved into Maryland June 2013. I was a resident before Oct 1st. I did not bring my AR with me in June 2013 since I was only 20. I turned 21 this year and didn't know if I could now posses my AR in MD. I bought the rifle in 2011 from a gun shop. I know this is a difficult question especially considering MD laws so thank you guys for any input

eruby

Confederate Jew
    MDS Supporter
    Adjunct question: Prior to 10/1/2013, if an 20 year old in Texas owned a 'regulated in Maryland' AR15 and moved to Maryland before turning 21, would he be able to posses it? He certainly couldn't buy a new one in Maryland until he turned 21.

This is kind of the same thing, only different.

I HATE Maryland.

CATMdude

I like turtles
    Dec 29, 2012
    Frederick