Is it legal to transport regulated through Md.?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • saln

Dec 28, 2008
    If you lived in NC and wanted to transport your AR's and AK's to NY, can you legally transport them through Md?

What are the rules?

rbird7282

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 6, 2012
    Columbia
    Yes it’s perfectly legal under FOPA. I wouldn’t be stopping in NJ or NY though, but that’s just me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

saln

Dec 28, 2008
    Thanks folks. I was just using NY as an example, I agree, I guess worse than Md...

I'm a Md resident and I know to split the firearm/ammo/mags up into different, unaccessable locations (no loaded mags) and have it all under lock and or cased when "traveling to the range". I was just wondering about a SO CALLED "assault weapons"..., that have never been on the Md books and just passing through, to wherever.

So, as a Md resident, is the following ok? To borrow a "potentially banned" rifle (ar ak) from a friend (in his name) and pass through Md with it say into WV, as long as everything is split up and locked and removed from easy access? Such worthless, pain in the ass laws that generate worthless, pain in the ass, bs questions...

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    I'm not sure if intentional , but you are mixing two catagories : Regulated Weapons aka Handguns, and potentially Banned Rifles . Please clarify your inquiry .

saln

Dec 28, 2008