• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • NewGuy202

Feb 9, 2017
    Hey all, newbie here. I currently live in Virginia and recently bought a Smith & Wesson M&P Sport II rifle. I am possibly moving to Maryland within the next year or two and I was wondering if I can bring my gun? I know it's banned by name, but I'm not sure if it's just that you can't buy, sell, or transfer it in Maryland (is it legal to OWN if I bought it legally in another state and then moved to Maryland?). If I am in fact not allowed to have it at all in Maryland, is there anything I can do to it to make it legal? Thanks in advance for your help.

DutchV

Ultimate Member
    Jul 8, 2012
    The other option would be moving somewhere besides Maryland. Or leave it with someone in a different state.

Yeah, sorry about that.

NewGuy202

Feb 9, 2017
    i bought it in 2017. oh well it's my own fault for not being informed enough. so if i change the barrel to an hbar, it would be completely legal? ballpark how much would that run me? and even though the base is a copycat, if i changed the barrel to an hbar it would be ok? thanks for all the replies everyone.

Last edited:

thomfantomas

Crna Ovca
    Feb 15, 2013
    Дундак ex Florida Keys
    i bought it in 2017. oh well it's my own fault for not being informed enough. so if i change the barrel to an hbar, it would be completely legal? ballpark how much would that run me? and even though the base is a copycat, if i changed the barrel to an hbar it would be ok? thanks for all the replies everyone.

yes,depends by brand of upper 300-1200,yes! bushmaster is the only manufacter thats banned by name in this state!

dontpanic

Ultimate Member
    Jul 7, 2013
    Timonium