Easier to buy in Maryland or in Delaware?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • boisepaw

boisepaw
    Jan 5, 2015
    Eastern shore, MD
    I have a friend moving in the next few months from Maryland to Delaware. She wants to have a gun for personal protection...probably a revolver or something like a Springfield XDe...something easier to handle.

I'm new to the east coast...thus my question. Should she try to buy something here in Maryland where she has lived most of her life or would she be better off waiting until she moves to Delaware and buying something in her new state of residence?

Darkemp

Ultimate Member
    Aug 18, 2009
    Marylandistan
    In MD she has to have an HQL which if she doesn’t already she won’t be buying until she goes through the process which would be a few months.

DutchV

Ultimate Member
    Jul 8, 2012
    HQL requires a training class, fingerprints, a background check and a processing delay, all of which costs at least $200. Better to wait and do it in Delaware.

Kman

Blah, blah, blah
    Dec 23, 2010
    Eastern shore
    Better for DE residents in every way.
    No pre buy license BS.
    No additional fees.
    No tax.
    Walking, buy, walk out.
    No restrictions on handgun choice or mag capacity.

ShafTed

Ultimate Member
    Mar 21, 2013
    Juuuuust over the line
    Also to even rent and try out options in MD she’ll have to have an HQL.