How do I transfer gun ownership from my deceased father to me?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Josh123

May 27, 2012
    My dad had a collection of about 10 semi-automatics and revolvers (no assault weapons). He was and I am a Maryland resident. My father passed away 9 years ago and his estate (including the handguns) was transferred to my mother. My mother is also a Maryland resident. She has physical possession of the handguns, but never filled out any paperwork or took any actions pertaining to the handguns after my father passed away. My questions are:

(1) What is the proper process for my mother to transfer the handguns to me, knowing the back story of my father's ownership of the handguns?
    (2) Can my mother transfer all of the handguns to me at once?
    (3) Is there a waiting period?

Thank you in advance to anyone who can assist with my questions! And yes, I understand that anyone who answers my questions is most likely not a lawyer and I will not rely upon your advice in any legal manner.

-Josh

Last edited:

Inigoes

Head'n for the hills
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 21, 2008
    SoMD / West PA
    Josh123 said:
    (1) What is the proper process for my mother to transfer the handguns to me, knowing the back story of my father's ownership of the handguns?
    (2) Can my mother transfer all of the handguns to me at once?
    (3) Is there a waiting period?

1) Goto the nearest msp parents or ffl to transfer them, a ffl can charge upto $20 or free at the msp barracks.

2) Yes

3) Yes, the typical 7 days.

K31

"Part of that Ultra MAGA Crowd"