• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • KRC

Sep 30, 2018
    Cecil County MD
    I don’t want to buy a handgun. I just want a stripped AR receiver to build a lower for the 224 Valkyrie upper I just assembled. Apparently I need an HQL for this.

Who/how is a check done to see if someone is exempt from having to take the HQL course? I purchased two handguns in the late 1990’s when I was a resident of Alaska, filling out all the required paperwork at that time. I have not purchased a handgun since or in MD. MDSP website is not particularly helpful.

Also, according to the MDSP website, there is no vendors or law enforcement facilities in Cecil county that do the fingerprinting. Closest seems to be Bel Air. Does anyone know a Cecil county vendor that can/will do this?

Thanks.

PS – What a bunch of crap.

I don’t want to buy a handgun. I just want a stripped AR receiver to build a lower for the 224 Valkyrie upper I just assembled. Apparently I need an HQL for this.

Who/how is a check done to see if someone is exempt from having to take the HQL course? I purchased two handguns in the late 1990’s when I was a resident of Alaska, filling out all the required paperwork at that time. I have not purchased a handgun since or in MD. MDSP website is not particularly helpful.

Also, according to the MDSP website, there is no vendors or law enforcement facilities in Cecil county that do the fingerprinting. Closest seems to be Bel Air. Does anyone know a Cecil county vendor that can/will do this?

Thanks.

PS – What a bunch of crap.

An HQL is not required for a stripped lower. A MSP 77r and a 7 day wait are required.
    Reach out to JLowesGuns in the industry partner section. He is in Rising Sun and a top notch guy.

KRC

Sep 30, 2018
    Cecil County MD