• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • natsb

Ultimate Member
    Sep 18, 2013
    southern MD
    I am just getting started in reloading. I am at the stage where I have a bunch of Nosler 60gr Ballistic Tip Varmint bullets, trimmed and primed 223 cases, and a pound of Hodgdon Benchmark powder.

So I go to the manuals and find the following load data:
    Hodgdon - start 23, max 24.6
    Lee - start 22, max 24.6
    Nosler - start 21.5, max 23.5

Who is right? Is this where I toss a coin and hope for the best? I am especially concerned that the Nosler max is almost the same as the Hodgdon start.

BigDaddy

Ultimate Member
    Feb 7, 2014
    I am just getting started in reloading. I am at the stage where I have a bunch of Nosler 60gr Ballistic Tip Varmint bullets, trimmed and primed 223 cases, and a pound of Hodgdon Benchmark powder.

Lee - start 22, max 24.6

Who is right? Is this where I toss a coin and hope for the best? I am especially concerned that the Nosler max is almost the same as the Hodgdon start.

My Lee 2nd edition, has 23g as the start for a 60g "jacketed bullet"
    Hodgon's online specifies a Hornady VMax
    And my Nosler manual is MIA, but I'll bet it specifies the Ballistic tip.

Aside from them using different test rifles, the bullet is also a variable. While the VMax looks just like a BT, I do not know that it has the same bearing surface area nor the same jacket material, so I would go with Nosler's data.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    Mid

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk

You'll have plenty of room to work, safely. ;)

I push 69gr Noslers out of a 16" Middy - 25.1gr of H335, no significant pressure signs. Loaded to magazine length. Wolf SRP.

BradMacc82

Ultimate Member
    Industry Partner
    Aug 17, 2011
    I run 24.5 same bullet and powder ;-)