• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jsl1106

Dec 7, 2008
    Perryville, MD
    Time for a new barrel for my SBR. Have narrowed it down to either a Noveske 11.5" or a Black Hole Weaponry 11.5". Both stainless, both polygonal rifling. Any input on either? Does a Noveske have $100 bucks worth of extra pizzazz to justify it's higher cost? Thanks for any input!

wjt1169

The Noveske will come with a pinned gas block already in place. This is both a pro and a con. The pro is that a pinned gas block is the most secure set up you can get. The con is that you must remove the pin and gas block in order to install the barrel; and that can prove challenging for some.

I have no experience with Black Hole Weaponry, but Noveske gear is top notch.

Patrick

MSI Executive Member
    Apr 26, 2009
    Calvert County
    I dunno, ignorance of the forum rules I guess. I must not know the secret handshake!

Or people don't have personal experience with both of those barrels. Noveske is a good name...black hole is a black hole when it comes to my knowledge.

Most folks I know go with complete uppers to get around issues mating a new barrel and gas block to an existing upper. In theory you can have issues with cycling and timing. Just because the parts fit does not mean they are plug and play.

Not discouraging you. Sounds like you are going to have some fun, either way.

Folks here are generally helpful when they know the answer to your question. It's probably the case that like me, they just don't have the specific answers you are seeking.

80thdiv313fa

Jul 8, 2009
    Maine