• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SCARCQB

Get Opp my rawn, Plick!
    Jun 25, 2008
    Undisclosed location
    I am starting a new thread about Myrtle Grove shooting range to separate it from other threads which emphasizes more of the negative aspects of the range. No rants here. This tread is for finding solutions and working together with other shooters that use the facility in hope of making it safer, cleaner and a CONSIDERATE place to enjoy the shooting sport.

I just got back from Myrtle Grove and spent a wonderful afternoon over there with friends. Doing what we like... exercising our 2A rights and having fun. I have been shooting at this range since 1985 and it is sad to see Myrtle Grove in such a dilapidated condition.

As a reminder to everyone using the facility, the range was intended for sighting in hunting weapons. It is not designed to handle the high volume fire as in commercial ranges. We also need to remind ourselves that the range facility is really meant to serve HUNTERS. This means, sighting in hunting firearms such as Shotguns (w/ slugs) and hunting rifles.

However, the massive influx of new shooters with Modern sporting rifles, pistols and shotguns means that Myrtle Grove will experience a lot more wear and tear as compared to the usual from previous years.

I also have information about the repairs that will shut down the range for a short time. This shutdown allows DNR to pave the entrance area to the WMA. Right now, the transition from dirt road to pavement at the entrance is uneven and vehicles get hung up.

The range baffles are also going to be repaired. Many sections have collapsed or heavily damaged by ricochets and misdirected fire. Soon, tactical umbrellas will no longer be required for hot sunny days, for a roof is going to be erected over the shooting area.