• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • chesapeake

Apr 2, 2011
    I am in the market to purchase a remington 700 model rifle, i am prob going to order or purchase it new. I have definately decided on a remington 700, but what i cant decide is what caliber to go with?

I will eventually like to go and shoot some big game out west with it and maybe canada, but not africa. I am not a big varmit hunter either. I was thinking 7mm ultra mag or 300 ultra mag or 300 short mag, but i am not an expert in rifles, so just looking for thoughts and opinions.

Thanks

sgt23preston

USMC LLA. NRA Life Member
    May 19, 2011
    Perry Hall
    Sgt Preston here...

I'd keep it simple but powerful: 308 or 30-06...

Those calibers of ammo has been readily available & reasonably priced (before the current shortages)...

I expect that demand will level off & supply will return when we get a real President...

MarineFAC

May 20, 2013
    SoMD
    The previous two gents got it right - .308 or .30-06. Find a good commercial load that sends a 150-180gr bullet out the front at 2800fps and prints at 1-2 MOA. You are ready for anything from white tales to elk to moose. I shoot a Rem 700 Mountain Rifle in .30-06 with Barnes Vortex 180gr triple shock bullets - bit much for white tales (have yet to have to track one after being shot) and dropped elk in Colorado at just over 400 yds. Besides the Ultra in Ultra Mag is for Ultra loud, Ultra hard kicking and Ultra expensive. Take a look at the ballistics - not that much more bang, for a lot more bucks. Best of luck and let us know what you decide.

sgt23preston

USMC LLA. NRA Life Member
    May 19, 2011
    Perry Hall
    .308...good enough for the USMC snipers, good enough for me.

Sgt Preston here...