• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • aps410

Dec 10, 2015
    Howard County
    Hello everybody, I recently picked up a K31 and wanted to get some opinions on what I should do with some of its issues. As you can see from the pics below, the buttstock has some pretty big cracks and the wood in general is pretty rough. My biggest concern with the cracks is that the top crack through the buttplate screw hole is big enough that the screw will not tighten.

So how should I go about cleaning up the stock? I'm pretty good with mechanical repairs but I have little woodworking experience. Which brings me to my second question, am I better off finding a gunsmith to repair the cracks and cleaning up the wood? I'm always up for a project but I would like to not get in over my head. Finally if I do go ahead and repair the cracks, should I use acraglas, nice wood glue, or epoxy? All opinions/advice welcome.

I can also post more pics if anyone is interested. I bought this gun as a shooter so the bluing is worn in some spots but its all matching and has a clean bore.

IMG_20170614_195004043_zpssns6f8ir.jpg

IMG_20170614_194939952_zpsobwf6jvn.jpg

IMG_20170614_194951806_zpsrfaekw4a.jpg

IMG_20170614_194939952_zpsobwf6jvn.jpg

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    Brass screws may work. Screw them in. Then cut the heads off and file flush to the stock.

But you may have a difficult time getting those gaps to close up. They're more like stress checks in the wood than they are cracks. The wood/threads would strip out way before you got everything cinched down.

Some strong wood clamps may bring it all together, but then you lose access to the holes you drilled for the screws.

Good luck.

buellsfurn

Ultimate Member
    Dec 1, 2015
    southern end of Maryland