• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • acwatkins

Aug 29, 2013
    Glen Burnie
    So its about time for me to get a new gun :D Im pretty much set on some type of an AR. Only thing is I don't know too much about them other than the reliability and customization factors. I was wondering if anyone has insight on looking for/buying a used one. How much should I look to spend for a very basic model, is $600 enough? What brands/models to steer clear of? Where to look for used ones? Common problems with used ones? I thought about building one, but I have no experience what so ever in that so I will just buy one for my first. Thanks in advance!

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    If you just want a basic one, you can probably find a new one close to your budget with a little shopping around.

iH8DemLibz

When All Else Fails.
    Apr 1, 2013
    Libtardistan
    So its about time for me to get a new gun :D Im pretty much set on some type of an AR. Only thing is I don't know too much about them other than the reliability and customization factors. I was wondering if anyone has insight on looking for/buying a used one. How much should I look to spend for a very basic model, is $600 enough? What brands/models to steer clear of? Where to look for used ones? Common problems with used ones? I thought about building one, but I have no experience what so ever in that so I will just buy one for my first. Thanks in advance!

For peace of mind, buy a new one and leave it alone.

In this day and age, you will never know to a certainty who or what has been in and out of a used AR-15.

And I want to congratulate you on admitting your limitations.

Ghost40

Apr 29, 2015