• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Decoy

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 2, 2007
    Dystopia
    Bushmaster ACR vs. FN SCAR

The age old question, which rifle is better? Over the past few years there have been countless articles and opinions on both the ACR and the SCAR. However in this day and age it’s hard to sort through the opinions of the “keyboard Commandos” and actual shooters. Based on what I have read they both seem like great rifles. I thought it was time to find out for myself what all the hype was about. So last weekend I finally had a chance to put the Bushmaster ACR Enhanced and the FN SCAR 16S in a head to head showdown. Remember, I’m not a professional and I don’t even play one on TV, I’m just a guy who likes guns.

Image1.jpg

Finish

ACR- Has an extremely even finish across all parts. No issues or defects. Has an overall flat finish.

SCAR- Has an extremely even finish across all parts. No issues or defects. Has an overall satin / flat finish.

Winner- ACR, I personally prefer the flat look of the ACR.

Weight

ACR- 8.3 Pounds Stock, 9.5 as tested*

SCAR- 7.3 Pounds Stock, 9.3 as tested*

Winner- SCAR, even with all the extra add-on’s the SCAR still came it at a lower weight than the ACR.

*Remember the two rifles tested had slightly different accessories. The Scar had a forward grip and extended front rail which added to the overall weight.

Grip

ACR- Out of the Box the ACR Grip is awesome, the grip angle is great and the texture is fantastic. It also came with a built in water tight storage compartment for 2 CR123 batteries.

SCAR- Out of the Box it has a standard AR15 grip, functional but lacking, replaced with Magpul MIAD.

Winner- ACR, I liked the fact that Bushmaster got it right straight from the factory. Not having to spend the extra money on an upgraded grip was a plus.

Handguards