• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dock-Hunter

Dec 8, 2012
    Hey all,

I am in the market for my first handgun. I have already completed the online training (which seemed a might silly?) so I now have the certification paper. I live up in Kent County...

I am trying to decide which direction to go in. I have been hunting and shooting for 15 years, but all long guns. I have very little practical experience with hand guns (shot a few but not many).

I am leaning towards a new handgun, just because I have no basis on what makes a "good" used handgun. I would like to get the gun without busting the bank on a first purchase.

Does anybody have any suggestions on new affordable and reliable handguns?

Any advice on what to look for with a used pistol?

I am primarily looking for a gun for target and pleasure shooting...

As you can probably tell, I'm very new to the world of pistols and any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Name Taken

Ultimate Member
    Feb 23, 2010
    Central
    What's your budget?

Glocks, Smith and Wesson MP's, some older Sigs are pretty reliable and good reliable.

Dont under estimate a good revolver as well. Plenty of relatively cheap .38 spl's out there. Smith and Wesson for instance.

Mark75H

MD Wear&Carry Instructor
    Industry Partner
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 25, 2011
    Outside the Gates
    Hi, I'm originally from Worton ... my grandmother probably served you lunch at school ...

I recommend a used 9mm FEG "Luger M-80" or Kareen copy of a Browning High Power. Cole's on Gunbroker usually has them for less than $300 (actually ranging from $225 to $500-$600, your choice) and I've never heard of anyone being disappointed in buying one of these.