• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brad

Mar 20, 2013
    Glen Arm
    I have read a little bit through other sources but is anyone reloading these shells? I have a ton of this that I have been shooting and since i'm just getting into reloading I feel this could be a cheap/easy way to learn and get comfortable before buying some nicer bulk hulls. From what I have read these hulls are only good for a few reloads but that should be plenty for me to get my feet wet.

What wads are you using if reloading these? I see claybuster makes a clone but id prefer to use something that isnt specific to federal since after my current stock of these I will likely move on to another hull.

Red1917

Apr 13, 2017
    Anne Arundel County
    I never loaded these personally, but from what I remember Federals used some kind of strange wad that was hard to get and I couldn't use it in anything else. This was like 3-4 years ago so idk if the hull construction has changed or not. I loaded a lot of winchester AA hulls and remington gun club and could use similar powder/primer/wads for those. Gun club hulls should be easy to get and are great to load.

Just remember whatever you do to follow EXACTLY what the published data says. This is crucial for shotshell loading as primers/wads/powders are NOT interchangeable. YMMV

K-43

West of Morning Side
    Oct 20, 2010
    PG
    There are many wads that can be used in Fed cases. It all depends upon what shot you are loading and what powder you wish to use.