• Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • May 18, 2020
    I am a resident of Florida visiting family in PA. I am being gifted a USMI M-1 carbine that I plan to take back to Florida with me but part of my trip would normally go through MD. Is the M-1 carbine legal in MD. I will travel with no magazines due to capacity issues. It has a fixed wooden stock and a flash suppressor that I think are ok under MD law but better safe than sorry.
    Thank you for any info you might be able to provide.
    Steph

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    M-1 Carbine is good to go. Even to stop and shoot in MD. You could even buy one in MD.

Mags are OK. You may possess them in MD, you just cannot buy, sell, transfer, or make in MD.

mac1_131

MSI Executive Member
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 31, 2009
    Legal even with mags. Mags are just a sales ban, not possession.

May 18, 2020
    Thank you. It is such a beautiful rifle in awesome condition, Inland Marine that I hate to leave it in PA or take the long way home to avoid MD

May 18, 2020
    Thank you. It is such a beautiful rifle in awesome condition, Inland Marine that I hate to leave it in PA or take the long way home to avoid MD

dblas

Past President, MSI
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 6, 2011
    I am a resident of Florida visiting family in PA. I am being gifted a USMI M-1 carbine that I plan to take back to Florida with me but part of my trip would normally go through MD. Is the M-1 carbine legal in MD. I will travel with no magazines due to capacity issues. It has a fixed wooden stock and a flash suppressor that I think are ok under MD law but better safe than sorry.
    Thank you for any info you might be able to provide.
    Steph