• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ras_oscar

Ultimate Member
    Apr 23, 2014
    I have a set of kitchen knives I've been using for 30 years. They were a cheap set I bought when it was all I could afford. I'd like some recommendation on an open stock knife manufacturer that makes a product that holds an edge well. I don't need a full set, since I usually use only 2 or 2 shapes regularly.

protegeV

Ready to go
    Apr 3, 2011
    TX
    We got a JA Henckels set for a wedding gift 12 years ago. We've put them through hell and they work just as well 12 years later :thumbsup:

tjohn55

LDO for CNO!
    Jan 13, 2016
    Willards, MD
    I have a set of kitchen knives I've been using for 30 years. They were a cheap set I bought when it was all I could afford. I'd like some recommendation on an open stock knife manufacturer that makes a product that holds an edge well. I don't need a full set, since I usually use only 2 or 2 shapes regularly.
    Cutco

ohen cepel

Ultimate Member
    Feb 2, 2011
    Where they send me.
    Another vote for Edgeworks if you're within an hour of him. That way you can handle nice options and see which ones fit your hand the best.

I like Henkels and Wustof.
    Have been using the same Henkles 5 stars for a decade plus now and they are going strong. Wife is hard on knives and uses them a lot daily. Money well spent for us.

Mr. Ed

This IS my Happy Face
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 8, 2009
    Edgewater
    This brand has no snob appeal, but on the recommendation of one of the associates in the store, I picked up a Calphalon Suntoku from Bed, Bath & Beyond a few years ago, and it's the sharpest knife I own. Easy to sharpen and holds a great edge. Under $40.

JoeRinMD

Rifleman
    Jul 18, 2008
    AA County