• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kidcadet1996

Jan 5, 2015
    Waldorf MD
    Any long range guys in this group? I’m looking to buy something to reach out far with, target shooting but also want a bigger caliber just for kicks. Maybe 300 PRC or 338 LM. I just started doing my research, so I’m new to this. I’m looking to keep the cost around $2500 for the gun. The Ruger PR and Savage Elite Precision seem like early standouts? Any thoughts?

erwos

The Hebrew Hammer
    MDS Supporter
    Mar 25, 2009
    Rockville, MD
    Both of those will do quite well for you.

However... make sure you have a place to shoot whatever you choose. IIRC, PNTC was not a fan of letting you shoot 338 LM on their steel. I know it's cliche, but even something like 6.5CM will get you about as far as you can shoot around here.

Speed3

Ultimate Member
    Aug 19, 2011
    MD
    How far is far? 1k, 1,500 or 2k + yards.

1k yards, id go straight. 284 Winchester, 1,500 likely 300 norma mag. 2k +, 375 cheytac or 416 are hard to beat.

The longer distance you wanna shoot, the more expensive the tool gets.

Both the RPR and savage shoot well for factory guns. More preference on the user side than anything.

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    Where do you plan on shooting it? What range?

Kind of stupid to shoot a 338 Lapua at 100 - 200 yards at $3 a trigger pull. :)

I REALLY want a .338 Lapua, but really have little use for it.

WRT budget, don't forget optics. You are talking about $2500 and up for optics for very long range.

I have also considered a .300 Win Mag. You can reach out to 1500 with it, but more reasonable cost per round, and finding places to shoot.

kidcadet1996

Jan 5, 2015
    Waldorf MD
    Both of those will do quite well for you.